Cover image for Arctic Circle

Arctic Circle | Warp Composers

Arctic Circle

    • Original Score by:
    • Vladislav Delay
    • Directed by:
    • Hannu Salonen
    • Produced by:
    • Yellow Film & TV, Bavaria Film


Arctic Circle (aka Ivalo) is set in the unforgiving polar region, amidst the icy landscapes of Finnish Lapland. In season 1 Nina Kautsalo, a Finnish police officer, finds a dying prostitute in an old cabin in the wilderness, the ensuing criminal investigation takes a surprise twist when a deadly virus is discovered in her blood. Nina suddenly finds herself in the middle of an exceedingly unusual criminal investigation. In season 2 Nina joins a new police unit in order to solve the mystery of an international hunting society. It's tied to an old murder case, to which Nina has a surprising connection.

Created by:

Olli Haikka
Petja Peltomaa
Joona Tena
Jón Atli Jónasson

Directed by:

Hannu Salonen

Produced by:

Yellow Film & TV
Bavaria Film


Iina Kuustonen
Maximilian Brückner
Pihla Viitala
Clemens Schick
Joi Johannsson
Susanna Haavisto

Music by:

Vladislav Delay

Original Network:

Elisa Viihde/Yle

Release date:

December 21, 2018 (S01E01)
December 19, 2021 (S02E01)



No. of episodes:

Season 1, 8 Episodes
Season 2, 8 Episodes

Running Time:

50 minutes

Arctic Circle (S1)